Yes. This Is Really Happening.

Shawna McCutcheon

Shawna McCutcheon

As a non-traditional student, I feel I bring a completely different perspective to the entire university experience than my younger classmates do. I worked in various low-paying jobs until I decided to go after my dreams of attending college and the fact that I’ll be the first one in my family to graduate a four-year program with my bachelor’s degree is a huge thrill.

Never did I expect such a huge opportunity to fall into my lap as this strategic-visioning project. As an undergrad, this type of thing just doesn’t happen and I’m more than thrilled to be a part of the process. The learning process alone is worth its weight in gold and the plus side is it will look great on my resume. I’m just glad to be a part of the entire process to try to create a better image for a university that I’ve grown to love.

About a year ago, Dr. Papakie told me she was going from a “gentle push” to an obnoxious shove” to get me out of my comfort zone and comfortable speaking to people. She definitely wasn’t joking and this project has really shoved me to new levels. I know I will be grateful for such a unique experience for the rest of my life.

~Shawna McCutcheon

Leave a Reply

