Learning To Swim

Juliette Rapp

Juliette Rapp

When Michelle announced to our class that we would be working side by side with President Driscoll and be active participants in the strategic visioning process, I felt overwhelmed and excited at the same time. I knew it was going to be a huge opportunity for both myself and my fellow classmates but I also knew it wasn’t going to be a joke and would require dedication to the project.
Although I consider myself to be outgoing, when the time came for the first group facilitation I had butterflies in my stomach. Myself and two other classmates, like toddlers learning to swim, were tossed into the middle of The Rivers Club in Pittsburgh by Michelle to facilitate a group comprised of President Driscoll, his wife and a handful of distinguished alumni.
To combat my nerves I took a deep breath, and once I was immersed, instead of drowning like I expected to, suddenly I began swimming through the questions as if I had known how to ask them all my life. Speaking came naturally, and I realized that we would never have been put in this position if our professor didn’t think we were capable of not only rising to the challenge but also surpassing it.

-Juliette Rapp

One thought on “Learning To Swim

Leave a Reply

