Getting out of my comfort zone

Public speaking is definitely not my favorite thing to do. Growing up I was always very shy. If I could avoid giving a speech or even answering a question in class, I would. Now in college I’ve grown out of that a bit, but I still realize I am soft spoken. That is why I decided to take Dr. Papakie’s Presentation Making course.

Today I had the chance to facilitate the class. And although it wasn’t my first time facilitating a group, it was my first time being a facilitator. I was a little hesitant at first, but felt more comfortable as I went on. They mentioned it was hard to answer the questions because until now they have been the ones facilitating. It started off slow, but soon enough everyone has some great input. I am glad I had the opportunity to facilitate the class and get out of my comfort zone.

Shannon Marshall

Leave a Reply

