Fear of Public Speaking

Katie Trenney

Katie Trenney

When I first signed up to take Presentation Making, I thought we would be learning about public relations presentations and the aspects that go into them.  I guess I never really thought much about the class.  On the first day, I realized that it was basically a public speaking class and I was terrified.  I remember Michele Papakie asking if any of us felt nauseous or had sweaty palms thinking about standing in front of the class and giving speeches.  I was definitely one of the students with those symptoms.

I’ve always been very loud and outspoken.  My older sister is also very loud and crazy and my parents were hoping that I would be their quiet child.  Well, I wasn’t.  I was voted Most Talkative during my senior year of high school.  I have no problem walking up to strangers and starting a conversation.  I just love to talk.  So it’s surprising to some that I have such a fear of public speaking.

Now we are in the last week of classes for the semester.  While I still feel shaky standing in front of our class or facilitating a group of strangers, I do have more confidence and feel that I have gained many public speaking skills during this class.  I don’t think I will ever fully overcome my fear of speaking in front of crowds, but I think Michele has helped me to control my nerves and deliver well-written speeches.

-Katie Trenney

One thought on “Fear of Public Speaking

  1. Pingback: Fear of Pubic Speaking – Basics of Giving a Speech with No Fear | Markets And Trading

Leave a Reply

