Wait…I’m confused

Caleb Murphy

Caleb Murphy

He kept saying, “I’m confused.” He said it probably four times.

Well, sir, that’s understandable. I’m confusing you.

I’m talking about a cold call I just made. (We’ve been calling people in the area to set up group discussions).

First, I mispronounced his name, calling him what sounded similar to a famous comedian’s name. Second, I went off my script, which we use to help us avoid being confusing. That’s a double-whammy. Strike two. Two birds with one phone call. What other cliches can I use?

Don’t worry, it all worked out well. But now I know what not to do when calling for the S.V.P. — don’t leave the script, and, if I’m not sure about their name, call every person “sir” or “ma’am,” or even “pal” or “lady.” (Just kidding. I’m going to double-check names).

It’s one of those, you know, learning-curve things.

-Caleb

Leave a Reply

