A Rough Start: First IUP SVP Radio Show on WIUP-FM 90.1

Brittany Madera

Brittany Madera

I hosted the very first IUP SVP radio show on WIUP-FM 90.1 Monday. It wasn’t great, but it wasn’t terrible either. There is going to be a steep learning curve, though.

It was just me talking for 60 straight minutes. That’s not fun for listeners to hear, and I ran through the material that I had prepared pretty quickly. It ended up being pretty dry. It would have gone a lot more smoothly if we had had some other material besides just explaining the project and listing some of the things that we’ve heard.

Radio Mic

Radio mic in the production room at WIUP-FM 90.1.

I’ll be hosting again next Monday, July 1, from 3 – 4 p.m. on WIUP-FM 90.1. I’ll definitely need to have someone else with me. Not only will it save my voice from speaking for a straight hour, but it would also be nice to have someone else to play off of. It’s hard to keep a conversation going when it’s only me.

Check out how our radio show has grown. Read my previous two blogs on hosting the radio show:  “Testing, Testing, One Two Three… Is This Thing On?” and “You Know, They Tell Me I Have the Perfect Face for Radio.”

One thought on “A Rough Start: First IUP SVP Radio Show on WIUP-FM 90.1

  1. Pingback: Radio Stardom, Here We Come! |

Leave a Reply

